The Only Releases That Matter PART 2(in which I sound like a broken record): My 2011 KPOP Favourites List

2pm – Hands Up

This gets on the list because it’s 2pm and not that embarrassing(which is like a fucking miracle for them)plus the Sohee cameo makes it a win.

B1A4 – Beautiful Target

I initially found B1A4 very vanilla and boring. They were lucky that I found them attractive because that’s what made me check out their second single. This song is like crack. It’s odd, it doesn’t really flow well and the English is incredibly wrong which somehow makes the whole thing very, very right.

Beast- The Fact

OH GOD YOSEOB’S VOICE OH GOD OH GOD OH GOD. The vocals in this are killer. I like how it’s slightly upbeat. Not long enough though. I need this at least five times as long as it is.

Brown Eyed Girls – Hot Shot


This song is surprisingly sophisticated for idol music. It reminds me of Koop and has that Bossa Nova feel which I adore. I love the live stages of this as well. BEG in suits, I cry. These ladies are the hottest women in Kpop.

Dal Shabet – Supa Dupa Diva


MY QUEENS. Flawless song. I love the really strong beat combined with the cuteness that is Dal Shabet. Their music is really fresh and distinct. I can’t say enough goods things about them. I absolutely adore them.

GDTOP- Knock Out


GD and Top being the biggest douchebags they can possibly be. It’s a typical day for them of course but that’s why we love them.

Girl’s Day – Twinkle Twinkle

I love the MV for this. It’s super cute. This song is so catchy and fun.

H2H – International


Pussy poppin’ anthem of the year.

Infinite – Hysterie


This is so throwback. I love it. Infinite never disappoints me. Everything they release is pretty fucking amazing and if you don’t like it well at least you can appreciate the care that was put into everything.

Mighty Mouth -Tok Tok

I love Mighty Mouth and Soya collaborations. Soya has a lovely voice and offers a perfect break from the guys while offering some sort of memorable hook. They work so well together and this is my favourite collaboration from them.

Rania – Dr. Feel Good


God how can you not like these ladies? Gorgeous and super sexy with dance moves that are confident and in control. The song is very fierce and Jooyi’s vocals are the best.

Rubber Duckie- Ugly Duckling Story

This is the perfect summer song. It’s upbeat and has a carefree feel that I enjoy. I adore these girls. They are all on twitter @RD_Baemi @RD_Sunny @RubberduckieJIA and super sweet and will try to speak to you in English.

Look at this awesome version of Nu ABO/Mazik/Genie they did:

Secret – Shy Boy


It’s not my favourite kind of Secret to see but I have to say they suit this song fairly well except for Zinger who should just stop rapping(but that’s the case with every Secret song). Aside from that this is an addictive feel good song with a pleasant retro flavour. Plus who doesn’t love hearing fanboys screaming Doo Bop Doo Bop Doo Bop?

Seungri – VVIP


I don’t know what kind of pact Seungri made with the devil to create this. I hate Big Bang. I don’t care about him but then he releases this and I go crazy over it. Like seriously he looks so good here, unbelievably good. His voice and this song is amazing I turn into a pile of jelly listening to it. I don’t know how even but it makes me extremely euphoric. I don’t… I don’t understand. It’s fucking witchcraft.

Sistar19 – Ma Boy


I am shocked that this is something by the Brave Brothers. Well not that shocked, it still has an overly obnoxious opening that screams Brave Sound. I absolutely adore Sistar. Hyorin is incredibly gorgeous and talented and has my favourite female voice in Kpop. Bora is an unbelievably beautiful girl and for this type of sexy unit they go together perfectly. They both have stunning faces and banging bodies and the talent to really make this group work.

Sunny Hill – Pray


I think this is my overall favourite release this year. I get chills every time I listen to this or watch the video.

T-ara – Cry Cry(music video version)

T-ARA often for me are throwaway artists. Their songs are usually great in a Kpop way but I don’t really stan them. I feel like everyday they are different artists and don’t really have a strong identity unless you count crazy concepts as their thing. I like this as it’s restrained. All versions of the song are good but I really like the slowness of this and the fact that they cut they rap out. It’s nice to just focus on how pretty their voices sound.

Tin Tap – Soup of Luv


I was torn over which Tin Tap release I wanted to put here. I am not limited to putting only one song from a specific artist because that’s stupid but it’s Tin Tap I’m not going to put 20 of their songs on here. I was going to put Don’t Spray Perfume On Me here just the fact that it’s a song about a 12 year old not wanting his old hag of a girlfriend to spray perfume on him because his younger girlfriend will find out he’s cheating on her means it deserves a spot. However Soup of Love is my jam and I also realized that the MV has Eric showering. Clear winner.

W&Whale – Sonyeon Mabeob Sa(Wizard Boy)


If you don’t know anything about W&Whale you should check them out. They are amazing. I love Whale’s voice and I could listen to it forever. I like how simple this is so it lets Whale’s vocals stand out. I love the layering of the vocals too. Also the way it goes from like acoustic and builds up and then back to acoustic is perfection. UGH SO GOOD.

One thought on “The Only Releases That Matter PART 2(in which I sound like a broken record): My 2011 KPOP Favourites List

  1. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually recognize what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Please also discuss with my site =). We will have a hyperlink change agreement among us

Leave a comment